Spunk – Salt Lakrids

I was interested, so some shopping online and about a week later, here they are:

For those who have never heard of Spunk, it is a Danish salt liquorice. Sounds tasty right?
The original flavor (Spunk Salt Lakrids) ones really are quite awful. The best way to describe their taste is, imagine eating black liquorice, except instead of any remnants of sweet are replaced by a salty taste. I suppose this would really wake you up if you were driving late into the night… I’ll have to give that a try one day.

Fortunately, the Spunk Vingummi (wine gums) are much tastier. These are candies that most people are accustomed to. They’re sweet, each color is a sort of different flavor, etc… It’s hard to describe their taste with a more mainstream candy, but regardless they are significantly more tolerable than the original Salt Lakrids.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Spunk – Salt Lakrids

  1. walter says:

    I think the reasons why the Spunk Salt Lakrids have a salt flavor to them is because they’re fucking salted dumbass.

    This is from a Danish boy and his bitch, your mom.

    Fucking American cunts.

  2. noodleknight says:

    It’s nice to know that even European countries have their fair share of ignorant, close-minded, and generally idiotic individuals.

    What you type really sets back on the efforts of the people from your nation who try to create a good image of the Danish… but then I remember that your opinion is just the minority and is worthless.

    You do have quite good English, though, which makes me wonder where you’re really located right now. Not saying that you have to be in the US to have good English… But would you happen to be an immigrant living in America? One of those spiteful “I hate the US this place sucks my home nation is better” people? If so people like you entertain me because beyond your babbling, you are still in the US.

    But, closely reading your text it seems that you’re probably just a troll, or just someone genuinely stupid and angry at the world because well… you’re stupid.

    Spunk Salt Lakrids are salty because they contain a lot of ammonium chloride, not because they’re salted. I guess what I typed and the pictures I showed weren’t enough to show that they’re not coated in salt… oh sorry, I forgot you weren’t very smart, I guess that also means you have poor reading and visual comprehension. If you really are from Europe… One of the things I hear a lot from foreigners from Europe is that the individuals there tend to be better educated than the typical American. I suppose that was a poor assumption on my part, I’ll try being more considerate in my next blog post… or not…

    If my saying that Spunk Salt Lakrids offended you, or anyone for that matter, I’m sorry, but surely a blog is about posting your opinions. My opinion is that Spunk isn’t really a tasty candy… I’ve heard foreigners complain about American Beer and how it tastes like shit… well it does taste like shit but that’s another story for another time.

    If you are a troll, 2/10 because you managed to type Spunk Salt Lakrids correctly, and managed to read the word “salt.”

    • Jens says:

      Most Danes speak excellent English. He is no exception. In fact, if you are bad at English in Denmark, the Danes think you are stupid. Many Danes can speak English without an audible accent. I had 2 Danish girlfriends in the last 8 years that fooled every American when they came to visit. Sometimes, the Americans thought the girls were stupid because they didn’t know a word or expression that most Americans use and then I had to tell them “Listen, she is not American, she is from Denmark”. To which they replied, Denmark, isn’t that the capital of Amsterdam?

      And my parents wonder why I moved to Europe.

    • Julie says:

      No true Dane would think that Spunk licorice is “salted”. Having said that, the taste of Spunk is not awful at all – it is simply acquired ;-)

      I’m actually Danish, I live in Denmark and this is me writing in English. Most Danes speak English extremely well, since we’re spoon fed English and US pop culture from a very young age. Movies are not dubbed here, and neither are TV shows, so we’re hearing the English language all the time, even if we’re also reading the subtitles.

      With all this in mind, I’m surprised somebody has launched a product called Spunk with a logo that looks like a tadpole. Perhaps the same mentality that spawned the rude Maoam fruits: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_4yjFXWcsUp0/SpQK_M_usKI/AAAAAAAAA8U/5y8h2WX7dgY/s400/maoam-pr0n.jpg

      • That’s not quite true. I’m not sure I fully qualify as a “true dane” but salt liquorice is so named because it’s salted. Ammonium chloride isn’t table salt (that would be sodium choloride) but it’s still a salt although an unusual one since it’s two non-metals.

        And I’d like to apologise on behalf of this nation for the rude twat upthread.

        Cheers!

    • Loy says:

      I know this is very odd and out of no where since this article is a few years old but… Ammonium Chloride is a salt.. so when you say “Spunk Salt Lakrids are salty because they contain a lot of ammonium chloride, not because they’re salted.” it really isn’t true. Typical salt is NaCl (sodium chloride) but afaik salts are just the result of an acid and a base being combined and neutralized.

  3. Karen says:

    Don’t think even for a second that the first post is from a Danish individual, we are much more civilised than that I can assure you!

    Don’t knock salt lakids, any Dane will develop a terrible hankering for them if deprived for any length of time. Give me a choice of caviar and lakrids and I will choose the latter any day, especially as I now live in the UK ( although IKEA now stock them too). In fact I stumbled upon your blog whilst searching for some yummy lakrids :-)

  4. Generally, I don’t post on blogs, but I would like to say that this weblog really forced me to do so! Many thanks, really good publish.

  5. Jarl says:

    Yea… We are quite small-minded and ignorant us danes. I do like liquorice Spunk, but most people I’ve known from other parts of the world doesn’t agree. I guess it’s like a million of other local culinary experiences from around the globe. Like, haggis. I mean who would volunteraly eat haggis unless they were from Scotland? Anyway the name is still funny though!
    And if you wanna try something that you’ll probably find even more horrifying than Spunk, try locate a type of liqourice called Djungelvrål (I guess it’s swedish for Jungle Cry). It’s even saltier and more ammonium-like than Spunk!

    • noodleknight says:

      Hope you didn’t take my reply to that other person’s comment personal, I was only talking to him not to anyone else or any group in general.

      • Zebede says:

        “It’s nice to know that even European countries have their fair share of ignorant, close-minded, and generally idiotic individuals.”
        Just to make it clear, EVERY nation has its rare, more intelligent people and the ones you described…

  6. info says:

    EXCELLENT POST, NOODLEKNIGHT!
    SO GRATEFUL I FOUND IT. THANK YOU.

  7. PeterPedal says:

    In Denmark we have, et slag på tasken, around 35 different kind of heavy “salty” or “salmiaky” liquorice types and the same amount of different “sweet” types. Counting all the local, the gourmet, the finnish, the dutch, the swedish and the in between types, I believe you will find more than a hundred kinds. From companies all over northern europe incl. Germany.
    If you mention “Saltbomber” (salty bombs) from German Haribo to any dane – 9 out of 10 has a passion. The last 1oth have given up due to sore jaw muscles. I don’t think you’ll find e.g. “Saltbomber” in any other country. And I don’t think you would like even a 10th of the variety. On many liquorice bags it says “adult liquorice not for children”.
    The Spunk has a special place in some Danes hearts.
    I think the guy got offended.
    He could easily be danish – we also have all kind a people, even though we are supposed to be the happiest people on earth. Thing is – the spunk logo was designed by the very young daughter of the liquorice company Galle & Jessen CEO back in 71. Galle & Jessen was in need of a logo for the new sweet. The word was as you may know presumably invented by Astrid Lingreen. The Danes met the word “Spunk” when the Astrid Lindgreen stories about the worlds strongest girl Pippi Langstrømpe (Pippi Longstocking uk.) (Pippi långstrump org. sw.) was spellbinding the danish kids in b/w Tv from 1969. I think the Spunk got a revival and got famous in england when the danish liquorice logo design attracted the fasion youth around five years ago.

    Take care
    P
    ps: excuse my english

  8. toffeebonbon says:

    Uh… Is ANYONE here familiar with the English definition of ‘spunk’ ???

  9. Zog the Undeniable says:

    Just British English, when it used to mean “pluck” but now more often means “semen”.

    In US English it is more innocuous and is sometimes used as a first name.

  10. Tom says:

    Watching an old Top Gear rerun, and had that same moment.. “Spunk”? WTF is that and why would it keep him up? Is it some kind of drug? A quick trip to Wikipedia later and a follow-on link here and my questions are answered. Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

