Unexpected Lighting Project

Well, actually I’ve been thinking about this for a while. I finally pulled the trigger and did it all in one day. Pretty simple and straightforward project. Install 3 4-ft florescent light bars in the garage.

The only real snag was pulling apart that old power box that fed power to the garage door opener. I wanted to splice power off of it to give power to another outlet installed on the other side of the garage. But when I opened it I just stared at it for a bit. The wiring job was completely out of whack, I can’t believe that stuff like this isn’t inspected when selling a house. It was a rats nest, and well, can’t have that. I spent a good 30 minutes trimming wires and organizing all the paths. I didn’t take pictures since I was rushing to finish while the sun was up. But here’s some pictures I snapped after finishing.

The hardware:

The boxes and wiring:

This powers the first light bar (not currently plugged in), if you look carefully you’ll see an outlet on the top:

End result:


This entry was posted in Projects, Small Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

