Homemade Popcorn

Homemade Popcorn – There’s many ways to make popcorn: stovetop, air pop, (jiffy pop?) microwave, etc… Well I guess the most common nowadays is microwave. I mean, it is easy to make, just nuke it in the microwave and you got popcorn. Some people like it, I don’t. The stuff tastes pretty bad to me, and if you’ve ever cut open a microwave popcorn bag, the cake that comes out isn’t very appealing. Heck, I can only somewhat tolerate movie popcorn with it’s excessive artificial salts and butters and excessive husks which stick in between your teeth when you eat the popcorn (the stuff is a ripoff anyways). Then again not everyone has a lot of free time on their hands, and I’m sure most people don’t want to try sneaking popcorn into a movie theater.

But for those who do have some time, and maybe an ample set of cooking utensils and common ingredients, here’s how I like to make popcorn. Take note, this isn’t my original idea, I actually got it from a fellow player from the text-based MMO called CarnageBlender (when the game was still in it’s first incarnation), it came from a guy named PirateKing (I think). The recipe is simple; first, the ingredients:

  • Popcorn kernels (any will do actually, as long as it comes in a jar and isn’t expired — for those who need a suggestion, I always use Orville Redenbacher’s popcorn kernels).
  • Olive oil (if you have extra virgin, you could add a little bit of cooking oil, but it’s optional).
  • Dressings, like salt, sugar, butter.

Tools you’ll need:

  • A deep pot with a lid (I’ll explain this later), preferably stainless steel, but any will do fine.
  • A stove, duh.
  • Your arms.

Procedure:

  1. Cover the bottom of the pot with kernels, any more and you’ll probably end up popping more than your pot can hold.
  2. Slightly cover the kernels in olive oil. If you have extra virgin, you can add about a teaspoon or so of cooking oil, but like I said, it isn’t really necessary. At this point I like to add a bit of sugar to sort of make a fake kettle corn — works pretty well though.
  3. Cover the pot and place over stove set on high. The lid is essential since olive oil will smoke when it gets hot.
  4. Start shaking the pot and keep shaking, this is the essential part about making popcorn over a open flame/heat source. It’ll take about 2 minutes to get the popcorn popping so work those arms out. Once you hear the popping stop, quickly remove it from the heat source and dump the contents into a large bowl. And that is it, a little salt and it’s good to go. The olive oil adds a light flavor to the popcorn; overall the popcorn is really light and fluffy, and you don’t get those annoying seed husks that get stuck in between your teeth. If you like butter on your popcorn, just melt some and pour it on. There’s a lot of ways to add flavor to your popcorn.

For those who are health concious, if you just have the popcorn without any butter or excessive salt, the popcorn is actually a healthy snack (olive oil is also low in saturated fat). Click here for the wikipedia article.

Edit: Someone had a question, so I shall answer it as best as I can.

I realize there is a concern for the pot being scratched by constant rubbing with the burner assembly. All I can say is that you’ll have to make the judgment for yourself. I use stainless steel pots, and I cook over a gas stove, so I just shake the pot and it rubs against the burner assembly; but there isn’t any wear signs. If you happen to have a teflon coated pot, or some other pot with a coating, or a pot made from a softer metal (like copper) then you’d probably want to try to keep the rubbing to a minimum. It’ll be one intense workout, though.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Homemade Popcorn

  1. sara says:

    sounds pretty good ….lemme try ..pls lets know the ways to flavor pcorn

  2. A says:

    I just made this. Delish with a little (healthy!) coconut oil.

  3. aaron says:

    how do i prevent the popcorn from getting mushy/soggy from the butter?

  4. noodleknight says:

    Don’t use too much oil/butter if you’re cooking the kernels, then it won’t absorb as much oil when it pops. If you’re talking about seasoning, there isn’t much you can do, except maybe dip your popcorn into the butter instead of pouring it on top, or pour it little by little, as you eat.

  5. Lam says:

    Hi, when you’re shaking the pot over the stove, is the bottom of the pot still making contact with the stove top? Thanks!

  6. some girl who randomly found this recipe says:

    Hi! I just figured I’d put my recipe of making homemade popcorn up for grabs as well. It is slightly different how I make popcorn and I thought you might be interested.
    Before I even add the popcorn kernels I add olive oil until it coats the bottom of the pan and maybe a little more to coat the kernels after they have popped. I think the amount of oil is up to you. Then, this is very important, I take 2-3 kernels and throw them into the oil, put the heat on almost medium-high and top it off with the lid. This is so I know when the oil’s temperature is ready to pop the kernels.

    Next I get out the bowl I am going to serve the popcorn in and add the desired amount of kernels I will be eating in only a few minutes. This is not only so that I have the kernels ready but also so that I can season them. Normally, salt and pepper go first. Again, amounts of salt and pepper are to personal taste. Anything can be added really Personally, I dislike sweet snacks but this would be the time to add sugar if desired. Tonight I actually added cumin to the kernels and I really like it! I also minced a clove of garlic which was also added.
    So, when the 2-3 kernels pop in your pan this is your signal. Add all the kernels you have seasoned, wait a few seconds while they simmer and then (if you like garlic) quickly add the minced garlic clove. Place the lid on the pot and your popcorn will pop shortly! If you want to speed up the process (perhaps so as to not burn your garlic) shake the pop and work out that arm! I think put it on medium-high heat so as not to burn the garlic or spices or olive oil. Sometimes, when I add the kernels I also add a half a tablespoon of butter to add flavor. But if you add the butter you will need to shake the pan so that the butter is equally dispersed. Oh and I have a gas stove, if that means anything.

    Ok. That was fun adding my two cents. Honestly, I’ll probably never find this conversation again, I just randomly stumbled upon it. Happy popping!

  7. (: Kacie says:

    sounds yummehh. :D

  8. ins says:

    thanks fr sharing…

  9. Abby says:

    For me, I like easy, traditional popcorn. Maybe a tablespoon or so of oil, put in the kernals, stir them so they all get oil coating, put a lid on and leave them alone (i don’t shake) until the popping slows/stops. I add the salt afterwards, and it’s delicious! I wasn’t sure how many kernals to put in, but i didn’t even totally cover the bottom of my pan and there was so much popcorn it was pushing the lid off! Practice makes perfect i guess!

  10. jj says:

    best popcorn ever, i did what both what was written and a comment someone left and wow, best everthe olive gave it some nice light taste and i love that salty taste from the cinema, but it not good ….i’m going to make it like any time i think about it, so simple

  11. Are you interested in my soft clinic Oh, good joke) How do you revive a drowning rodent? Give it mouse-to-mouse resuscitation.

  12. Catzy Karatina says:

    I have a huge distaste for Kettle Corn, but that’s probably because I just don’t like sweet popcorn. I will definitely try this, but I wish I could find a homemade recipe for the oil sold next to the popcorn (the kind found in the packet in the pour-over butter Orville Redenbauker?). That stuff is like $3 and it’s such a small bottle… Plus, the cinemark here has this orange popcorn salt… I have no clue what’s in it, but it’s really good. If anyone has the recipes for those, please upload!!!

  13. Lindsay says:

    Catzy Karatina –

    The orange popcorn salt in Cinemark theaters is Rico’s Butter Flavored Popcorn Salt… you can buy it direct from http://ricos.com/shop/catalog/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=5

    We’ve been looking for it forever, too, and finally asked one of the guys working behind the counter!

    Enjoy!

  14. kmak says:

    Seriously, Lindsay? You bought 26 _pounds_ of popcorn salt and 4 gallons of buttery flavor??!! How’d that work out?

  15. BillInKY says:

    I found the flavored popcorn salts at target over the holidays, and they have them in the Kroger supermarkets. The cheesy stuff if the best, but you have to be careful because it gets airborne easily and burns if you breathe it in…

    That can’t be good, but it tastes great.

  16. mikda999 says:

    Yummy!

    I grew up making popcorn like this and just needed a refresher. This recipe is awesome. The other day I was at my local bulk foods store and overheard the owner telling someone about coconut oil for popcorn. I just tried it and OMG, I will probably never go back to olive oil. Then my six year old got the idea to sprinkle on some cinnamon and natural cane sugar and it tasted just like cinnamon toast. I’m sure coconut oil isn’t as good for you as olive oil, but it can’t be any worse than the butter we used to use.

  17. Cherry Heaven says:

    Me and my friends did this and all the popcorn was burnt because we used olive oil and we tried EVERYTHING

    Oh well

    Cherry,Becky,Emily,Ellie And Megan

  18. GDudley says:

    Just wanted to let you all know that coconut oil is AWESOMELY healthy! You can find out the details on one of the many healthy food websites. Thanks everyone, for the yummy ideas. Popcorn is also–as everyone here probably knows–extremely healthy, though I’ve been wondering about the GMO part; seems like you cannot even find corn anymore that hasn’t been tainted by genetic modification. Does anyone know about this angle (or care)? Best of health!

    • cats says:

      Health food store? not sure how it works in the states but here in the UK items are labelled as Not from GMO or Do Not contain GMO ingredients……..But to stay on the safe side I buy grains, pulses etc from a local health food store and prices from an independent health store for such items are cheaper than a supermarket.

      When are you adding the coconut oil before or after cooking?

  19. I just made this it tastes great!!!!!

  20. cats says:

    I’m a convert !! Fed up with the artificial perseverates in shop bought pop corn. I was at a health food store today and seen the corn and thought I’d have a go and start making my own again,
    Something I’ve not done since child hood I was amazed how memories came flooding back and I went into automatic mode…came on here to find some alternative flavourings, (glad I did) I was wondering how to do the caramelised corn and the use of sugar is mentioned so looking forward to the next batch I’m preparing! with Barbadian cane sugar.

    At the moment I’m using a little high grade olive oil heated in the pan before adding the corn and while still hot after turning the gas off, and if there’s still room in the pan! (to give a good shake) adding mixed pepper corns and flaked chilly mix from a grinder and a pinch of Kent (UK) natural marsh land finishing salt, I’ve ran out of French sea salt!

    I’m going to experiment with honey and a good quality syrup, like maple. And some ground herbs!

    All these recipes on here are healthy, take no longer than opening a bag of shop bought, and at a fraction of the price! And of course the taste! Is to die for!

  21. What’s up to every one, the contents existing at this web site are really amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

Leave a Reply

